learningmaio.blogg.se

D major D flat major
D major D flat major







I’ve adapted this duet for a variety of instruments. My goal with this duet was to create a musical universe that has the grandeur of an orchestra with just two voices. The finale is another fanfare, but has some mischievous fun after turning a few harmonic corners in minor. The second movement cautiously meanders through unexpected harmonies, much like someone nervously exploring unfamiliar places. I ended up writing the opening movement last, and it begins with a noble fanfare in 6/16. Some of the ‘leftover ideas’ that didn’t make it into the finale were used as seeds for the second movement - in particular, the motifs at measure 9 and from 70-80. I spent the majority of that day developing these ideas, and this became what is now the third movement.

D major D flat major

After a couple of days of casually juggling some motifs around in my mind, something clicked and I scrambled to write down everything as quickly as possible. Duet in D-Flat Major was written in what could perhaps be best described as a burst of inspiration.









D major D flat major